Report from 1st AGM, Copenhagen, October 2018

On 26th October 2018, DELT held its first Annual General Meeting (AGM) followed by a panel discussion and informal dinner at Dansk Forfatterforening‘s beautiful baroque premises in Christianshavn, Copenhagen.

At the meeting, the Constitution was ratified and signed by the formally elected first Committee. We thank Gyldendal for contributing bubbly for toasting the official founding of DELT.

DELT committee
DELT’s First Committee (left to right): Sinéad Quirke Køngerskov (co-Secretary), Lin Falk van Rooyen (Events), Paul Russell Garrett (Treasurer), John Mason (co-Secretary), Ellen Kythor (Chair)

The AGM covered finances, strategy, events, and future potential projects including a proposal for an independent DELT publication. (Members can read the full AGM Minutes in the website’s Members’ Area.)

Following the formal AGM and a quick break for coffee (during which members enjoyed Sinéad’s delicious vegan Guinness cake!), a panel discussion on the topic ‘No Translator is an Island’ was opened by DELT events coordinator Lin Falk van Rooyen, prefaced with a round of introductions from all attendees, including a brief mention of members’ current translation projects.

Ably moderated by Lin, established literary translators and DELT members, Martin Aitken and Misha Hoekstra, shared their (rather different!) day-to-day working practices with the audience, including insights into the ways in which professional relationships with colleagues, authors, and publishers have been maintained from their respective ‘lonely’ desks in Denmark. Following Misha and Martin’s lively exchange the discussion was opened to the floor for questions.

Dinner in the same venue was informal and convivial, enabling members to network and lively discussion continued including topics arising from the meeting and panel. Attendees enjoyed Govinda’s tasty vegan buffet, arranged by Sinéad and Paul. A die-hard group pitched in with the dishes and and clearing up afterwards that provided ample opportunity for laughter and building friendships!

Ellen Kythor welcomes attendees to the AGM
  • report by Ellen Kythor (DELT Chair) and Lin Falk van Rooyen (DELT events coordinator)

21 DELT members attended. Meeting attendees (alphabetical by first name): Anna Halager, Annette David, Ellen Kythor, Fiona Harris, Ian Giles, John Mason, Katrine Øgaard Jensen, Larry Morlan, Lin Falk van Rooyen, Martin Aitken, Michael Goldman, Misha Hoekstra, Nina Sokol, Paul Larkin, Paul Russell Garrett, Phillip Sheils, Sherilyn Hellberg, Sinéad Quirke Køngerskov, Solvej Todd, Tam McTurk, and Thom Satterlee.

Photo credits: Lin Falk van Rooyen, Paul Russell Garrett, Ian Giles, Ellen Kythor, Sinéad Quirke Køngerskov

We are grateful for assistance from the Danish Arts Foundation’s Networking Fund (pulje for oversætternetværk) to host this event.